Yes, this is a design change from v 7.6 which we call as Intelligent Notification. Normally, when a technician picks up or assigns a request to him/her self, they do not need to be notified about the request assignment. The idea behind this functionality is to avoid unnecessary notifications thereby improving the performance.
By default, self notification will not be sent i.e., Intelligent Notification is disabled. If required, this can be enabled from the database.
To enable self notification, execute the following query in the database:
update globalconfig set paramvalue=’false’ where parameter=’IntelligentNotification’;